Who else hates this time of year?

I’m just gonna whine!

I hate it. I want it to be May. I want to be able to go outside and use the round pen. I want to be able to haul horses to another arena to ride without worrying that the roads will be slippery. And I’m ready for the horses to shed – I am tired of having long-haired, filthy yaks!

We have mud and intermittent snow here. Our indoor arena has not yet completely recovered from the flood damage, so it is nice in some spots and way too deep in others. Sly, the buckskin Paint mare, reacts to hitting a deep spot by freaking out and scrambling so I am hesitant to continue her under-saddle training until we get the arena in better shape, so I’ve introduced her to long-lining. I thought she was kind of spooky about it the first time until I learned that her actual first time doing it, a year or so ago, she flipped out completely. So now I decided that the fact that I got her going around both directions in a reasonably controlled manner to be a success, and we’ll keep working on that. She is terrified of the rope being near or around her butt, so we will work up to that – for now, I am letting it just lay over her saddle.

We are sticking to walk and jog. She needs to learn that it is OK to walk – I like for horses to have a solid walk on the longe line and she thinks you need to go out there right away and charge around – which I think is pretty common. Lots of people ignore walking and it’s not just the NH-ey round penning set – I see plenty of hunters that think you go out on the longe line and run around like a fool. I hate that. I want 3 good, reasonably controlled gaits on the longe, just like any other time. Fortunately she is a smart mare and is catching on quickly!

I also want to introduce her to ponying, so I’m going to try to put some riding on a very well broke, huge Appy gelding that we have here as I think he’ll tolerate the idea of being ponied off of. He is Mr. Personality – big as a house, so big that he looks part draft even though he isn’t. I have renamed him the Moosealoosa. 🙂

All my others are fine except for my 35+ year old, Clover, who had to be put to sleep last week. She just got to that point where her balance was going and even though she was still “cleaning her plate” and looked good, it was obvious she was going to go down at some point and not be able to get back up. She was a free Craigslist horse two years ago, thrown away by a girl who wanted “a young horse who could go fast” and “didn’t know why she was so skinny” (she was long past any ability to chew hay, and was starving to death). She ate hay pellet mush with me for a little over two years and died looking like you see below. That’s my idea of a happy ending!

Published in: on March 10, 2009 at 12:46 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://verylargecolt.wordpress.com/2009/03/10/who-else-hates-this-time-of-year/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

